Posted by: Zsuzsanna | January 30, 2009

You wanted to know…

As promised, here is my first Q&A. Questions are listed in no particular order. I tried to list previously unanswered questions, but I’m sure I missed a lot of them. If you are still waiting for an answer, you can leave me another comment.

What’s your current daily routine if you have one and how do you fit in homeschooling. I’m asking this because if I were to want to homeschool I have NO IDEA how I would fit that in there!!

Get up about 90 mins before I expect the kids to get up (usually around 5:30 to 6:30, depending on when I went to bed).

Get ready and dressed, read the Bible, start on housework (laundry, empty dishes)

Feed and dress kids as they wake up.

Once kids are all fed and ready, read Bible to them all, then do core subjects such as English, spelling, math, phonics, writing, reading. They work independently while I take turns helping them and keeping the housework going.

Run errands if we have any, or take the kids to the park.

Lunch

Clean lunch mess, reboot laundry, start dishwasher.

Little ones take a nap while the older ones do history, science, art etc.

Play/cook/do chores/run more errands until dinner.

Dinner

Get kids ready for bed, read to kids, lights out between 8 and 9.

“Pick up” and sweep house, do laundry and dishes.

Lay out kids’ school work for next day and write what they need to do on the chalk board.

Sit down and RELAX (i.e. blog).

I usually end up doing school only 3 or 4 days per week, because the kids work ahead and get done sooner. We use the spare time for weekly field trips, going to the library or the park, or just for projects around the house.

As far as fitting in homeschooling, I find that it takes much less time than some think, but it DOES take time. And thought and planning (= mental drain). Since we only ever homeschooled, I had a chance to “grow” into it. I can imagine that if you were to start homeschooling all your kids at once, it would be an adjustment. But then again, if you are currently driving them to and from school and helping with homework, you are probably already spending more time on that than I am on teaching.



Did you always wear skirts and why?

No, I started about 7 years ago. I believe God is against unisex clothing and wants us to dress gender specific.

Deuteronomy 22:5 The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so are abomination unto the LORD thy God.

I am also intruiged by the whole ‘girls can only wear skirts’ idea: I understand wanting to be modest and not expose oneself in skimpy outfits, but why not pants? Again, just wondering.

Please see previous question.

Can you explain being against short hair?

I am not against short hair, I am just against short hair on women. 🙂
1Co 11:5 But every woman that prayeth or prophesieth with her head uncovered dishonoureth her head: for that is even all one as if she were shaven. 1Co 11:6 For if the woman be not covered, let her also be shorn: but if it be a shame for a woman to be shorn or shaven, let her be covered. This covering is NOT talking about a veil, but rather hair, as the verses just below prove: 1Co 11:14 Doth not even nature itself teach you, that, if a man have long hair, it is a shame unto him? 1Co 11:15 But if a woman have long hair, it is a glory to her: for her hair is given her for a covering.

You don’t own a TV then?

No, we don’t. We never watch any TV.

Why on earth are you eating ham for Christmas Dinner? If you follow all of God’s words and His rules for living why do you choose not follow this one: Deuteronomy 14.8 Also the swine is unclean for you ….. you shall not eat their flesh

The dietary rules applied only to the nation of Israel, and were done away with in the New Testament, Jesus having fulfilled the law.

Acts 11:5-9 (5) I was in the city of Joppa praying: and in a trance I saw a vision, A certain vessel descend, as it had been a great sheet, let down from heaven by four corners; and it came even to me: (6) Upon the which when I had fastened mine eyes, I considered, and saw fourfooted beasts of the earth, and wild beasts, and creeping things, and fowls of the air. (7) And I heard a voice saying unto me, Arise, Peter; slay and eat. (8) But I said, Not so, Lord: for nothing common or unclean hath at any time entered into my mouth. (9) But the voice answered me again from heaven, What God hath cleansed, that call not thou common.

Although we are totally different types of parents, from different sides of the world, I was just wondering regarding your comment about your girls getting up early for their own families ..would you be supportive of your girls should they decide one day to become independant career woman instead of staying home to raise a family??? prehaps deciding not to have children at all??

No, I wouldn’t be, but the choice would ultimately be theirs. I am not worried about them choosing such a lifestyle, though, as I will be teaching them that being a mother is the highest calling in life. Why would they want to settle for less? Why eat at McDonald’s when you can have Filet Mignon?

Just wanted to thank you and Steven for providing such wonderful learning and encouragement for us over the net. Thank you for your latest post on rising early. I would love to hear more specifics of how you ménage your day with your children and homeschooling. Our eldest is 9 and youngest 9months with three in between. I am so eager to learn more as we also are homeschooling.

Thank you so much, I love comments like this one!

My question relates to the use of the King James version of the Bible. You seem quite adamant that this is the only correct version of the Bible, could you tell me a little more about that? This is not meant as a criticism or anything, I am genuinely interested as this is the first time I have heard this.

You can find more information on this issue here.

Did you want kids or a big family before you converted?

I have always wanted both.

Where do you store 23 boxes of Kleenex? LOL Sounds like a kindergarten classroom supply! haha

That’s easy: in my laundry room, right next to the 3 cartons of laundry soap and warehouse size packages of paper towels and toilet paper. I am actually also drowning in the latter because I have been getting 4-packs of Cottonelle for free for months, thanks to the sales and coupons.


(I realize this last one wasn’t intended as a serious question)

Responses

  1. I’d really like to know where you got that huge chalk board. I’d love to find one of those.

  2. Unless I’m going to church I usually don’t wear skirts in the winter, mostly because I can’t figure out what type of socks and shoes to wear. I wear them quite often in the summer as I don’t wear socks, usually just sandals. My question… what do you wear for socks and shoes with skirts? I can’t imagine you go about in hose and heels all day every day. So what do you wear? What type of shoes do you wear? Tights? Knee highs? Cotton? I promise I’m not making fun, this is a seroius question.

  3. Karen,

    I bought the chalk board from a local public school district that used to sell off their surplus. I paid $1 for it. Retail value is over $300 plus very expensive shipping, so it was a bargain to say the least. It was in perfect shape, with no damage whatsoever, so I don’t know why the school would have replaced it, but it’s not like money is an object when it comes to government spending.

    They also used to sell student desks, chairs, bookcases, tables, etc for $1 each, but have stopped all that and instead sell all their surplus to auction houses now.

    WendyLou,

    No, I do not wear tights/hose but once or twice a year – yuck!

    Fortunately, the weather here is nice enough not to have to wear socks in the winter. I usually wear sandals that are closed-toe in the winter, with or without knee-high cotton socks. My skirts are all long. If I lived in a colder climate, I would wear tights that are all cotton (except for the little elastic that they have to add, but not polyester etc.) with closed shoes.

    I really don’t like the skirt + tennis shoes look and try to reserve that for when I am actually going to do a lot of walking or going to participate in sports.


Leave a Reply

Categories

