Posted by: Zsuzsanna | January 28, 2009

Is it wrong to blog?

Whaaaat??? Yes, you read the title right.

No, I do not think it is wrong to blog (evidently). But this is a notion that I have come across more commonly in recent months, and just felt like I would give my two cents on it.

I am NOT talking about ladies who started a blog but then closed it because they found it took away too much of their time. On the contrary, I commend those ladies for making such a decision.

Personally, blogging to me is a hobby, a creative outlet like crafts or gardening might be to someone else (me + plants = disaster). Everyone needs to have something that they can relax with sometime. Nobody only works, sleeps, eats, and serves God, in spite of what they may claim. I get up very early every morning, work hard all day with practically no breaks at all, and when the kids are in bed, after a quick cleaning of the house, I think I have every right to sit down and take it easy. To read what other adults have to say (since calling them at 10 PM might not be such a good idea). To share what I learned with others in a situation similar to mine.

Now if someone told me that they think women should NEVER publish a book, speak publicly, teach a class at church, or otherwise voice themselves, I would very much disagree with them, but at least that would be consistent. However, the only people that I have heard say that blogging is wrong would not find it wrong for a lady to write a hand-written letter to another person. They have ladies at their church who teach Sunday School, and find nothing wrong with that. They read and/or recommend books written by other Christian ladies. They would not think it wrong for ladies to talk about Bible questions with other ladies.

I do think it is wrong for women to stand up in church and teach the Bible, even if it is to women only. But that does not mean that women cannot talk about spiritual matters. I also think that older women are commanded to teach younger women “to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands.” Notice that these are all things that are taught by example and life itself, not in a classroom.

I would like to think that I am not an “older woman”, but I am older than some. I have also had 5 children, which has taught me many spiritual lessons. Consequently, I do know some things that a young wife or mother, or someone with fewer children, does not yet know, and that she might benefit from learning. Obviously, we don’t have to know everything in order to be able to help another lady, or else nobody would be qualified.

I think the real reason why some people are against blogs is the same reason why people in the past were burned at the stake for inventing the printing press and printing books, most notably the Bible. Blogs give people a voice who would otherwise only have a very limited circle of influence. Blogs are effective tools of mass communication. This opens up the floodgates for spiritual discourse and the spread of true biblical teaching vs. man-made traditions and doctrines.

So yes, much to the dismay of many, I will continue to blog, and do so with a clear conscience. My house is clean, my work is done, the kids are in bed, I read the Bible to them, taught them, fed them, cleaned them, and cared for them and the household in every other conceivable way today, and there is nothing wrong with sitting down and taking a break. What was good enough for Jesus is good enough for me.

Responses

  1. “Now if someone told me that they think women should NEVER… teach a class at church…I would very much disagree with them…”
    “I do think it is wrong for women to stand up in church and teach the Bible, even if it is to women only.”

    I agree with you, I think anyone has the right to blog, and the right to say whatever they want on their blog even if others don’t agree with it. I am, however, confused by what seems to be contradictory statements by you that I quoted above.

    I am not part of your faith, so I don’t understand what the difference is between a woman teaching a class at church and a woman teaching the bible.

    Also, aren’t you teaching the bible when you go soul winning? How does that not contradict your statement that a woman should not teach the bible? From my understanding, you are teaching the bible and reading verses to people when you are soul winning. If you could explain this to me, I would appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Than you for the post, for me the computer can be a major time management issue ( but I am working on it).
    I have a question that I really thought you could help with, as a more mature mom and Christian. I wasn’t sure how else to contact you, and I know that you are really busy.
    Basically, I am convinced that a homebirth (edd mid June)is the best things I could do for my two older childre, let alone myself and new baby.However, due to insurance issues- visiting our local hospital is free, while I am currently working on paying the midwife out of pocket. my husband is 100% whatever I want to do, but what I want is to do the best thign for my family, and I am not sure if using our financial resources is the best thing…. anyhow, if you have a chance my personal e-mail is blessedbessents@yahoo.com. I would really, really appreciate any feedback that you could provide.
    Heather

  3. I agree. You do need some time to just enjoy whatever. I do not believe blogging is wrong unless it interferes with other things like family, church, Bible reading, soul-winning, etc. Of course anything could be wrong in that situation. It’s really great how you can still blog after all you do. 🙂

  4. To Pascha: I’m not the author of this blog, but I’ll tell you what I think she meant by that statement. If I’m wrong, she can let us know. I think she meant that the Bible says women should keep silence in the church and learn from their husbands at home. (I’m paraphrasing here, too lazy to look it up.) That’s why I think she said women should not teach a Bible class, even to other women, because those women should be learning the Bible from their husbands at home. I also think she meant that it is okay to teach a class at church on some other subject. For example, a woman might teach a cooking class, a sewing class, a gardening class, etc, to other women (not during the church service, but during a ladies’ fellowship meeting or something like that). I’m not sure how to answer your soul winning question. Maybe she will tell us what she meant.

  5. Thank you, grade1teacher, for the explanation. I am still interested in hearing about soul-winning, and hopefully she will be able to answer.

    From everything I’ve read, it seems as though the belief is that women should not be in any position of power (Sarah Palin as vice-president, a woman teaching in church, etc.), yet I see it as a position of power if a woman goes soul-winning, especially to people she doesn’t know. And what if the person that opens the door is a man? Do you turn and leave, since you are a woman? I am not trying to be contrary, it’s just that all the points that have been made about women don’t seem cohesive.

    Thanks for your time, I hope you get the chance to answer. 🙂

  6. Pascha,

    grade1teacher answered your questions exactly like I would have. To answer the soulwinning question: The Bible commands all believers (man, woman, young, old) to preach the gospel to everyone.

    Mark 16:15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.

    I do talk to men, women, and children (with their parent’s consent) when I go door-to-door.

    Telling someone how to be saved is different from taking a verse in scripture and preaching my interpretation of it in a sermon/class. In order to be saved, I must obviously believe right about salvation myself. But it would be very easy for me to come up with a wrong interpretation of a Bible verse that could mean a variety of things.

  7. In order to be saved, I must obviously believe right about salvation myself. But it would be very easy for me to come up with a wrong interpretation of a Bible verse that could mean a variety of things.

    I thought you believed that being saved was on faith alone? Because the above statement seems like a works belief.

    If you are saved by faith alone, why do the rest? Why go to church, study the Bible, go soul winning etc if you are already saved and going to heaven and your works are meaningless?

    (I guess since I signed in I’m on a questioning kick.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

