Posted by: Zsuzsanna | December 28, 2008

Our Christmas

We had a very nice Christmas. Usually, we open presents in the morning on Christmas Day, but this year, we opened them on Christmas Eve after the evening church service. I liked that better because the kids could sleep on all their excitement about their gifts, which made Christmas Day more relaxing for us parents. Plus, I had a chance to tidy up the house and throw away all the gift wrap/boxes/etc. after they went to sleep. I think that will become our new tradition. It also freed me up on Christmas Day to cook a big breakfast and to start the dinner leisurely while the kids were busy playing (but not bouncing off the walls with excitement and anticipation).

On Christmas Eve, before going to church, we also took a few more family photos because everyone was dressed up for Christmas. Believe me, it is not easy to get 7 people to look even half-way nice on camera! My husband was goofing around with the boys, all the kids were totally antsy because they knew we were opening presents after church, and Miriam had just woken up and was mad about me fixing her hair for the pictures.

Anyway, this is what I came up with after an hour of trying:

The whole family

The kids


The boys



The girls


Miriam



Rebecca

We had a ham dinner with all the typical sides for Christmas, and it was delicious. My husband and I got to play five rounds of the board game I gave him as a gift, and I beat him every single time. He had more luck the next day, when we also played this game and this one, which we already had. Can you tell we like this game?!? We usually only ever get to play on holidays when he is off, and it was fun.
Responses

  1. The pictures are wonderful. We did our presents on Christmas Eve also. My parents had to head out Christmas Day. Made for a sad day. But, like you it was nice to have the mess picked up and not worry about all the wrapping paper and trash.

    Glad your family had a wonderful time.

    Have a safe and Happy New Year.

  2. HA HA You poll in the sidebar is hillarious!!
    Loved your family pic:)!!
    I moved my blog yet again. this time I purchased primium on xanga so now i can meet new people without having to have it completely public as well as other settings. Hope you’ll still come by:)

    playing board games at xmas is a great idea by the way!!

  3. oh it’s at http://xanga.com/momto9

  4. I loved the pictures. They were great. Is the Christmas tree fake or really? I am glad to hear that you all had a good Christmas. Are the kids still on a break from school this week?

    Misty

  5. You have a beautiful family! The pictures turned out great!

  6. those pictures are great 🙂
    I love how your youngest boy has the biggest smile 🙂

  7. Your efforts of an hour to pull the kids together was magnificent! What a precious little family you have, keep up the photos, as time flies so fast, and it can’t be replaced. It almost seems a camera tied around the neck is the way to catch each shot. 🙂
    Great blog; I love it.
    In Christ,
    Diane

  8. Please look at Jeremiah 10:1-4


Leave a Reply

Categories

