Posted by: Zsuzsanna | December 22, 2008

Becca smiling


I meant to post these pictures of Becky with this post, but I couldn’t find my camera that day. She has actually been smiling since the day she was born, but not as often as she does now. However, I don’t have many pictures of her smiling because I am usually too busy admiring her to want to put her down and grab the camera. Plus, I don’t want to “punish” her for smiling so beautifully by flashing her poor little eyes with the bright flash.

This is off topic, but does any other mom of a young baby feel guilty about putting their little one in the swing? Becca LOVES her swing, the first of our babies to do so. The other ones would stay in it for a few minutes here and there, then start fussing, and I would put them back in the sling and carry them around with me all day. But Rebecca actually fusses to be put IN the swing – in the evening, she prefers it to being held or even nursed. Then she falls asleep, and I don’t want to wake her just because I feel bad about leaving her in there too long. Plus, it IS nice to have my hands free to get housework done after the older ones are in bed while she swings away happily. I know all kids love swinging, I know this won’t make her grow up to be a sailor, I know she still gets held and cuddled tons every day – but still, I have this nagging feeling of guilt.

Ugh. I think moms just always feel guilty when it comes to their kids, no matter what.

Responses

  1. well as long as you’re generally loving and attentive to her i don’t see that as a problem:)

  2. I don’t see it as a problem, either. My kids Loved their swing when they were that little, and I was able to get stuff done. DO NOT feel guilty. Be glad that she likes to swing.

  3. I never felt guilty about the swing. If my baby’s happy, I’m happy. A breastfed baby gets held a lot.

    Rebecca looks just like Isaac.

  4. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now, but have never left a comment. First I love your blog! Second to answer your question I think it must be natural to feel quilty, but, like you said when you have a lot to do it sure comes in handy. My fifth child is a 9 yo girl named Rebekah and she sounds a lot like your Rebecca in that she slept all the time (she even would sleep through her baths!) and never really ever fussed, except to eat. I homeschool so it was a huge blessing, but I have to say that when she turned a year old it hit me hard. I felt like I had not spend hardly anytime enjoying her as a sweet baby. I did nurse her, but I still felt like I missed out on so much with her because she was so good and I did have so much to do. I have to say today that she was my last girl. If I could go back I would spend more time with her as a small infant. After her I’ve had 3 more boys (I have 5 boys and 3 girls)and I did spend more time with them (and I love them all very much) but, it was like one day I realized that my baby girl was no longer a baby and I don’t hardly remember her being little… Hope that makes sense. Your Rebecca has already grown a lot! You have a wonderful looking family. Just 4 years ago I had 6 children under 10. Those were the best of days! Although they can be very stressful! Hope your family has a wonderful Christmas! ~ Dana

  5. Dana,

    Thanks for the insightful comment. I totally understand what you mean. It always hits me when one of our kids (who in my mind are always babies) has yet another birthday. Where did that whole year go so fast, I wonder. The two youngest kids still sleep in bed with us, so at least I get to catch up a lot of cuddles with them at night even if the day has been hectic. But still, they grow up SO FAST. I am very much hoping that I will still be having babies when the grandbabies start arriving, that way I won’t have a gap with no little babies to cuddle and play with. They are just the nicest people on the planet!


Leave a Reply

Categories

