Posted by: Zsuzsanna | October 8, 2008

Update

First off, no baby yet!

We have had a couple of close calls, though. First there was a major storm moving in over the weekend, and I felt like it was for sure going to put me into labor if it did in fact hit our area. Not sure if it’s the barometric pressure or what, but it seems that our babies like to be born during heavy rain/snow storms. Thankfully, the storm passed us by, and my body relaxed again.

Last night at 3 AM, I was awoken by painful contractions that were coming about every 2 minutes, but pretty short. Since the birth tub had been delivered, but not yet set up, I woke my husband up who spent the next hour getting all that ready for me. By then, I fell back asleep and woke up with no more contractions this morning. This would have been a terrible night to have the baby, because our main drain just clogged yesterday (Monday) evening. As a result, we could not use the bathroom or the kitchen, because anytime water went down any of the drains, the house flooded more. I had been really good about keeping all the towels laundered and in stock (for the water birth) but had to use every last one of them to somewhat contain the wet mess. We have tile throughout much of the house, and the little ones kept slipping and falling on the water that had seeped into the hall from the flooded bathroom. When my husband got home from work on Monday night at 10, he was unable to unclog the drain, but he did figure out that the other bathroom at the far end of the house was past the clog and therefore usable. This saved us having to call a plumber out in the middle of the night for an emergency call. So after getting up at 1 AM on Monday morning to go on a business trip to Utah, from which he returned Monday night (after driving 900 miles), I then woke poor hubby up at 3 AM today (Tuesday) to fill the birth tub, all while the plumbing was broken and there were no more clean or dry towels. Now you understand why this would have been a bad night to have a baby. After I went back to sleep, I dreamed that it was morning and I was trying to call a plumber. To my horror, the yellow pages went straight from “pool service” to “spas”, with no “plumbers” in between. I realize that alphabetically, it would have come before “pool service” anyway, but in my dream that’s how it was. Clearly, I had nothing but water on my mind, and a fear that the clog would not get fixed.

First thing this morning, I did call out a plumber, and they spent close to 5 hours fixing the plumbing – one thing kind of led to another and the final bill was a few dollars short of $700. OUCH!!! We really did not need that right now – then again, who ever does?!? At least all is working now, and the birth tub is set up and ready.

Over the course of the last week, I also managed to precook and freeze 14 dinners (with portions large enough to have leftovers for lunches), so I won’t need to cook for at least two weeks after the baby. My birth kit is complete and ready. Today, I managed to not only finish washing every last bit of dirty laundry, but also put ALL of it away. That only happens about once a year or so with the amount of laundry we go through (3-4 large loads/day). My husband came home from work earlier than usual and got the kids into bed while I went out for dinner by myself, after stopping at a bookstore for a book to read while eating. Afterwards, I ran a couple of quick errands by myself, so I won’t need to do them with the kids in tow tomorrow.

My midwife is getting into town in less than 48 hours, on Thursday evening. I would really, really love to not have the baby before then. My plans for the next two days are to stay home and take it easy. I want to make miniature caramel apples with the kids tomorrow, practice reading with Isaac, and work on some history and science with Solomon. We might also bake some cookies and throw them in the freezer for a quick treat.

Responses

  1. You are the most organized person I know. That for one is a good trait. Taken the fact of the awesome responsibility you have. I pray everything goes well. I look forward to seeing him or her.

  2. Tell Steve to be sure and call us when HE’s born.

  3. I’ll be praying for you. I hope the baby arrives after your midwife. 🙂

  4. Just wanted to say best wishes.
    Anna

  5. Last night I had a dream that I was spending the night at your house and awoke to the sound of Steve getting the birthing tub ready.


Leave a Reply

Categories

