Posted by: Zsuzsanna | September 23, 2008

Tell that to Ms. Palin

How is this for an interesting article:

Study: Men With Traditional Gender Views Earn More Money

A study has found that men who believe in traditional roles for women earn significantly more money than those who see women as an equal.

The study, to be published in the September issue of the Journal of Applied Psychology, is proof that pay differences between men and women can be attributed to more than just economics.

After analyzing inteviews with nearly 8,000 individuals, researchers found that men with traditional attitudes about gender earned $11,930 more than men with egalitarian attitudes and $14,404 more than women with traditional attitudes. The comparisons were based on men and women working with the same levels of education working the same kinds of jobs at the same number of hours.

“We actually thought maybe men with traditional attitudes work in more complex jobs that pay more or select higher-paying occupations,”study co-author Beth A. Livingston told the Washington Post. “Regardless of the jobs people chose, or how long they worked at them, there was still a significant effect of gender role attitudes on income.”

Participants answered questions about how strongly they agreed or disagreed with statements such as a woman’s place is in the home; a man should be the achiever outside the home; and women are much happier if they stay home and take care of the children.

The study also found that even when other factors such as industry, occupation, hours worked and number of children, the results remained the same.

“In general if your interest is to reduce the gender wage gap, then teaching your children and adhering to non-traditional attitudes toward gender roles is the way to go,” Livingston told LiveScience.com. “If that’s your goal, we have to work on promoting less traditional attitudes toward gender.”

So, roughly speaking, a guy who has the right ideas about who should be supporting the family makes about $1,000 more per month than the guy who sends his wife off to work.

I would like to know how many working women bring home more than $1,000 net per month after paying for childcare, a second vehicle (with insurance, registration, gas, maintenance, etc.), a professional wardrobe, the higher taxes, the money lost by not being able to shop for bargains, and the endless incidentals such as Starbucks on the way to the office, lunch with the boss, gifts for colleagues, and take-out for dinner because mom is too tired to cook after a long day at the office. Again, I stand by my observation that the majority of working women do not bring in any extra income, but rather often lose money by working.

If a couple is childless through no fault of their own, or if the lady is older and all her kids are grown, I could see why maybe she would like some outside diversion such as a job. But I would like to ask all happily working mothers: why in the world would you pay money to spend less time with your children? Why would you run yourself ragged trying to juggle everything only to find in a few years from now that it just can’t be done?

I wonder if Ms. Palin would trade her career for not having her teenage daughter pregnant out of wedlock, but sadly, I don’t think she would. I am fairly certain she is convinced the one had nothing to do with the other.

Responses

  1. Women who work outside the home are not bringing in any extra money. If they would set down and do the math they would figure that out. If they happen to be lucky enough to get away with not paying anybody to watch their kids they might bring home a little ,but if they sat down and adjusted their budget they might find they would be able to make that money by making a few changes. Here’s what I suggest.

    1. Drive a decent used car. This saves you a car payment and insurance will not be as much.

    2. Cut the cable or satellite.

    3. Don’t eat out as much.

    4. Buy clothes on sale and shop the clearance racks.

    5. Cut certain things off your grocery bill. No soda, tv dinners, frozen pizzas, kids cereals etc.

    6. Invest in a Sam’s membership and buy things like toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent and other necessary household items in bulk. Of course this depends on what your family uses as to with this will save you money or not.

    7. Don’t be afraid to buy those store brands especially when it comes to food. A can of peas is a can of peas.

    There are many other things that could be added to this list. PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT TALKING TO SINGLE MOMS HERE. I UNDERSTAND YOU HAVE NO CHOICE. But if at all possible I would suggest to single moms that if you have to leave your child with someone that you try to leave them with a family member if possible as opposed to daycare since recent studies are putting daycare in a negative light.

  2. I would also like to add that my husband and I sat down looked at all our bills plus the cost of me having a job outside the home just to see if it would speed up us being able to move out of my in-laws house. We assumed that I would be able to get a job making seven dollars an hour. We also assumed that we would have my husband’s aunt watch Matthew for $200-$300 dollars a month which is cheaper than daycare. AT THE MOST I WOULD BRING HOME ONLY ABOUT $400 A MONTH. So about $5,000 dollars a year. Not worth the stress if you ask me. This was a full time job by the way. It would be even less on 20 hours a week. I would be willing to bet that unless a woman is a doctor or lawyer, she probably brings home less than $10,000 a year after all costs of having a job are taken out. Besides I think the more money people have the more they are going to spend. Expensive designer clothes, the newest electronic gadgets, and on and on. It’s human nature. So woman working just to save money really doesn’t hold water. My MIL works outside the home and doesn’t have to pay anyone to watch her 11 year old daughter because we live here and I’m home all the time. Even so she only makes about $11,000 a year.

  3. Great post. I can tell you from personal experience that husbands are happier when their wife stays home. They don’t have to worry that their wife is around other men all day, and they enjoy (at least most of the time) coming home to a clean house with dinner on the table. A man likes to feel like he’s providing for his wife, and lets face it, a woman appreciates her husband more when he is supporting the family.

  4. I bring home over $1000 per month. I don’t pay childcare, my parents get my kids after school and our cars are paid for. The only “extras” we have is satelite tv which isn’t that expensive and that is my husbands thing. I rarely shop at mall stores – and that has to be a big sale. We don’t eat out much and when we do it’s pretty cheap.

    But, to live in a safe area, with excellent schools, I have to work. I’m not going to live anywhere that isn’t safe, my dh is gone way too much for me to have to worry with that.

  5. Someone who has been a working mother and now a stay at home mother I agree that my husband is much happier with me being at home.

    I think the one thing that was really difficult when working with children is all the time off you have to take when you have to take them somewhere or if you have to go to the school. Let’s not forget trying to keep the house clean and the laundry done timely.

    I was finding myself wasting much time. Unlike now I am able to manage things much better in the household.

  6. I am curious to know why you have refused to post my comment?
    I did not attack your husband, your faith or use any foul language?

    If you can not post my comment then could you at least respond to it?

  7. Sarah,

    Posts are rejected for a long list of reasons, not just the ones you mentioned. Those were my criteria a while back before I got swamped with too many comments every day to read, post, and then reply to.

    In your particular case, I am sorry, but I never read your full comment because it was so long. Rather, I just briefly skimmed over it (as I did again just now after your new comment). The impression I got was that you did not really have anything new to say, just the same arguments of being supportive of pregnant teenage moms, how it’s not Ms. Palin’s fault, etc. I disagree with you but do not have the time to explain why. If you read my blog regularly you will be able to see why I believe what I believe.

    Again, I would like to restate that this blog is not a forum for discussion. It is my one-sided view of how I believe things should be in light of the Bible. I don’t mind you disagreeing with me, or telling me so in the kind way that you did, but I just don’t have the time or desire to respond.

    Zsuzsanna

  8. Stefanie-
    I have to ask – why then are you working? Why does it matter if you live in a place with “excellent schools” – move to a cheaper home and home school…….

  9. Zsuzsanna,
    I wonder do you really believe anything for yourself, or are you riding on the coattails of your husband’s spirituality? He has such an overbearing personality, and you parrot everything he thinks. I have strong, conservative convictions myself, but it is because I believe them, not because someone told me what to believe. My hubby approves of and strongly encourages me to search out the Scriptures myself. You should do it also.

  10. mommyof3,

    your point being? I guess you will have to keep wondering, because you do not know me personally, and likely never will.


Leave a Reply

Categories

