Posted by: Zsuzsanna | September 3, 2008

I never liked McCain, but..

… I like him even less now that he picked his VP. Here are some reasons why I think Ms. Palin is unqualified:

– She is a woman – see Exodus 18:21. Her place is NOT in politics, but in the home, caring for her family and raising her children. While she was pursuing her wonderful career as the governor of Alaska, her 17-year old daughter apparently decided to seek attention from her peers and wound up pregnant out of wedlock. Yes, I know that this is very typical these days, and that many families deal with the same situation – but how many of those families had mom stay home with the kids their whole lives? A very small fraction, I would guess.

– She is not pro-family. Even though Ms. Palin is touted as a pro-lifer because she chose not to abort her Down Syndrome baby (wow, I am so impressed), she clearly has higher priorities than her 5 children if she is the governor of Alaska and now hoping to become the second in command to the most powerful political figure in the world. And what kind of an example is she setting for her own daughters and young ladies all over the country? That politics is more important for a woman than family? Her message of “women can have it all” is just not true, as her daughter just proved to the world.

– She is a feminist:

Mrs. Sarah Palin’s National Press Conference Announcement With John McCain:

To serve as vice president beside such a man would be the privilege of a lifetime. And it’s fitting that this trust has been given to me 88 years almost to the day after the women of America first gained the right to vote. I think — I think as well today of two other women who came before me in national elections. I can’t begin this great effort without honoring the achievements of Geraldine Ferraro in 1984, and, of course, Senator Hillary Clinton who showed such determination and grace in her presidential campaign. It was rightly noted in Denver this week that Hillary left 18 million cracks in the highest, hardest glass ceiling in America, but it turns out the women of America aren’t finished yet, and we can shatter that glass ceiling once and for all.

As for my people, children are their oppressors, and women rule over them. O my people, they which lead thee cause thee to err, and destroy the way of thy paths. – Isaiah 3:12

P.S. Please don’t bother sending me dissenting comments. There are plenty of websites out there who think highly of McCain/Palin. This isn’t one of them, and I will not post your comment.

Responses

  1. This is NOT a dissenting comment, I don’t like McCain/Palin either, that’s why I am going to vote for Chuck Baldwin!

  2. Zsuzsanna,

    I am not a fan of McCain either. I, like you, do not believe that women belong in those positions of authority over men. One statement that has always nagged at me that I read when her candidacy was first announced was that she “went from hockey Mom to Vice Presidential candidate”. The progression of the statement alone made me think that she left the “Mom” part of her behind to pursue her dreams and aspirations. Then the announcement of her daughter’s pregnancy at 17 years of age made me wonder if she been there as “Mom” and her focus being on her children and family and not the state of Alaska, her daughter would very likely not be in the position she is in.

    The fact remains that women can’t “do it all”. We were not designed to be both provider and homemakers and “do it all”. Something will fall through the cracks and unfortunately, it is usually the children that end up falling through the cracks.

    Thanks for your perspective. Although, McCain’s announcement and choice of Palin was a brilliant counter attack on Obama (whom I dislike even more than McCain) I still don’t believe that a woman should be in that position, with our without children at home.

    I really do enjoy reading your blog. It is thought provoking, intelligent and well written.
    Becki

  3. Ran across this article that you might find interesting. He takes it a little further and goes even deeper into Scripture.
    http://www.visionforumministries.org/issues/ballot_box/should_christians_support_a_wo.aspx

  4. My stepdd’s mom became a Christian when my dsd was 10 (long after disserting her husband (my husband). Raised her working a job at home, homeschooled her, long hair, long skirts, no boys, etc. And, she’s pregnant at 20. Why? Because curiosity kills the cat, I guess. It does happen.

  5. I would just like to say that I agree with Becki. God did not design for woman to be in power or do it all like society tells us that we can. As a daughter of a woman who believes that I can tell you it’s not true. My mother holds a college degree and works in the public school system. When she got wrapped up in her college and job we got thrown on the back burner. It hurts and causes many problems. As for her daughter no one is perfect and can make a mistake. It happens in the best of families. But usually when kids get into this type of situation it means they have issues with the parents so clearly this women has not tried very hard to be a good mom. If Palin is elected with McCain into office her daughter will be worse off. Right now she needs to be a mom to her daughter and teach her to make some better decisions in the future. A baby changes your life. Sadly like you said it seems like politics is more important to her than her children anyway.

  6. I don’t understand why Feminism is so bad, could you please explain

  7. I found it amusing that Palin was quoted as saying that she plans to homeschool her kids. How in the world will she fit that into her schedule?

  8. A few days ago a friend had this discussion going on at her blog and everyone was in favor of Palin. This is what I posted:

    I don’t know much about her. I don’t believe we should have a woman in the office. I do not feel that was ever God’s choice of a place for women to be.

    I am not saying that women aren’t extremely bright and capable and sometimes “seem” to be better at some things than a man.

    But I do not believe that was God’s choice for a woman to be in charge of the country.

    Lets take a look at Eve, Adam followed her lead and they both got kicked out of the garden. Lets take a look at abortion in this country. I don’t know exact stats but from what I understand women are the ones who pushed for this.

    Men don’t always make the best decisions either.

    But I would rather follow Gods plan and trust in him.

    I believe women should be keepers of the home, not keepers of the country.

    The fact that we know nothing of her spiritual leanings, says alot. If Jesus Christ was her Lord and saviour she should have said so already. I really doubt she worships the same God we do and if that is the case, this country can very quickly become a much scarier place than it already is.

    It has already been deteriorating.

  9. A few days ago a friend had this discussion going on at her blog and everyone was in favor of Palin. This is what I posted:

    I don’t know much about her. I don’t believe we should have a woman in the office. I do not feel that was ever God’s choice of a place for women to be.

    I am not saying that women aren’t extremely bright and capable and sometimes “seem” to be better at some things than a man.

    But I do not believe that was God’s choice for a woman to be in charge of the country.

    Lets take a look at Eve, Adam followed her lead and they both got kicked out of the garden. Lets take a look at abortion in this country. I don’t know exact stats but from what I understand women are the ones who pushed for this.

    Men don’t always make the best decisions either.

    But I would rather follow Gods plan and trust in him.

    I believe women should be keepers of the home, not keepers of the country.

    The fact that we know nothing of her spiritual leanings, says alot. If Jesus Christ was her Lord and saviour she should have said so already. I really doubt she worships the same God we do and if that is the case, this country can very quickly become a much scarier place than it already is.

    It has already been deteriorating.

  10. I believe that Sarah Palin is a poor choice for a vice presidential candidate because of her lack of experience, not because she is a woman. Being supportive of a teenage pregnant daughter and giving birth to a handicapped child rather than having an abortion does not make a person a good candidate for the vice presidency of the most powerful nation on earth. I’m hoping that when I go to the polls in November, there is a choice on the ballot for NONE OF THE ABOVE. It will definitely get my vote!

  11. I hope you don’t think this is a dissenting comment, because I don’t want to offend you. But, I think you should consider that we women already run everything. And that doing a “job” for pay like Vice President is different than leading a congregation or a family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

