Posted by: Zsuzsanna | August 23, 2008

New photos

The last week has been a busy one! We celebrated Miriam’s half-birthday on Thursday of last week. Since she only got a half-cake, I decided to use the remaining batter to make a trial batch of the cupcakes for Solomon’s birthday next month. He wants an airplane pilot theme (don’t ask how he came up with that, but this will be one of his gifts… don’t tell!). My idea was to frost cupcakes blue, with white frosting clouds and chocolate airplanes I made from a mold. Being the health-conscious person I am, I went to the health food store to buy some natural blue food coloring (made from blueberries). While I didn’t expect the color to come out a deep blue, I certainly wasn’t prepared for the BRIGHT PINK I got. It worked great for Miriam’s cake, though:


Thankfully, I had bought some all-natural blue sprinkles “just in case”, and used those instead. The company that makes the sprinkles also makes a liquid food color, and since their sprinkles came out really nice I might order their liquid food color and try that instead of the brand that thinks blue is pink. Here is a picture of the cupcakes:


In case you were wondering, John still wears his fireman costume almost every single day:

Over the weekend, my husband’s older sister and her youngest child came to visit for a couple of days from Texas, which was fun. Not sure why I didn’t take any pictures at the time, I think the kids had lost my camera or I was out of batteries (probably both).

Last night, I got to have an evening with no kids when the ladies of our church went to a paint-your-own pottery studio. It was so nice! Unfortunately, I came home 45 minutes later than I had said I would. My husband, who knew I wouldn’t want to come home to the house being turned upside down, entertained the kids outside all evening with BBQ and swimming in the pool, but brought them in just in time to have them washed up and in their PJs by the time I said I would get home. Well, I was late, and in the meantime the kids managed to smear peanut butter on just about every square inch of the sofa and floor. They then dragged all their bedsheets out to build forts in the (now dirty) living room. Of course, the kitchen already looked like disaster had struck. Not a pretty scene, but it was still worth it for a fun evening without them.

Today, I finally decided to take Miriam for her first haircut. There is a really cute kids’ salon in town that has little carousel animals for kids to sit on while they get their hair cut, which I thought would distract my stubborn and opinionated daughter (did I just say that?!?) long enough to get her hair trimmed. The story went something like this:

1) I will be happy as long as you let me pick out every single purse I like. Notice my long, shaggy hair.

2) I will not, will not sit anywhere expect your lap, and even then with a mad face.

3) Did you just dare to set me down? DID YOU JUST DARE TO SET ME DOWN?!?


4) Give me the lollipop and nobody will get hurt. Just don’t set me down again.

5) I’ll sit here on the fender just long enough for you to pay, and then I will start screaming my head off again because now I DON’T want to leave.

I have to say that temper tantrums like this are a first for me. None of the boys ever threw a fit like that, ever. These moody outbursts must be a girl thing.

Is it any wonder that for lunch I took the kids to Sonic, which is 100% out of character for me. The last time I had fast food was 2 years ago when I was newly pregnant with Miriam and got a sick craving for a McDonald’s cheeseburger, which I regretted for the rest of that day. I justified today’s junk trip by telling myself that no kid can grow up in America without having gone to Sonic at least once during their childhood. But once is more than enough, as I have since decided.




Now it is just past 7 PM, and this is not a minute too soon to get all my precious youngins in bed for the night!!!

Responses

  1. I don’t like the food at Sonic except for the Sonic Sunrise Smoothie and the Chili Cheese Coney.

  2. I think chili cheese anything is great. My wife has finally gotten me to try the Limeade fountain drinks and they aren’t bad. The Sonic restaurants near us are terribly slow and the novelty of having the food brought to your car wears off quickly when the wait times are 20-30 minutes. Atleast when I was a kid the carhops wore rollerskates, but most don’t these days. They make a decent hourly wage and act snotty if they don’t receive (what they consider) a nice tip. We’ve seen dine-in restaurants in other parts of the country, but none in Central Arkansas. Dining in really isn’t so bad.

  3. Well the kids looked like the enjoyed the food. Miriam hair is cute. My husband gave our 13 month old his first haircut. We knew he would not even sit there. Now next month I get to see if he will sit still while the dentist checks his teeth. (oh what fun that will be)

  4. Cute pictures. The salon looks really great. Did you buy Miriam a purse? (LOL!) I think the food a Sonic is okay. It beats McDonald’s any day of the week.

  5. It never once crossed my mind to tip the carhop because this was, after all, a fast food place. Later when I got home I briefly wondered about that, but decided that they probably would not usually get a tip.

    The food was not nearly as bad as McDonald’s. I had an Angus bacon cheeseburger and a couple of the kids’ tater tots. I didn’t get sick later, nor did I get the horrible, unquenchable thirst that other fast food gives me, so I figures it wasn’t THAT bad. Of course, the kids love the food.

    I did buy Miriam the purse at the salon. In fact, I bought both. The one was only a little more than $1, and the pink one with the pearls would have torn had I tried to pry it out of her fingers. I figured it made more sense to pay for the purse than to break it and then still having to pay for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

