Posted by: Zsuzsanna | July 23, 2008

Apple Donuts

When we lived in Indiana, we would often go to a pick-your-own apple orchard in the fall. They had the BEST apple donuts I have ever had anywhere. In fact, those are one of the only things I miss about Indiana.

This is a really fast and easy recipe for some great homemade apple donuts. We made them for breakfast twice last week.

Applesauce Doughnuts

(makes about 18 doughnuts)

3 1/3 cups flour (whole wheat pastry flour or unbleached all-purpose flour)
1 cup applesauce
3/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs

1. Beat 1 1/3 cups of the flour and the remaining ingredients in large bowl until blended. Stir in remaining flour. Cover and refrigerate about 1 hour or until dough stiffens (this is not a must, but the dough will be sticky and harder to work with if you don’t).

2. Heat vegetable oil in a deep fryer or large saucepan to 375. Flour dough and gently roll out 3/8 inch thick. Cut with floured doughnut cutter.

3. Slide doughnuts into hot oil using a wide spatula. Turn doughnuts as they rise to the surface. Fry 1 to 1 1/2 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Carefully remove from oil (do not prick surfaces), drain on paper towels, and turn in cinnamon-sugar while still warm.

Miriam and John licking the beaters… I know, food safety… I have licked the batter out of every bowl since I started baking at a young age, and I have never gotten sick from it. Some things in life are just worth the risk, I guess.

See all those strawberries? Who said you can’t have a balanced breakfast with doughnuts??

This is what was left of that huge plateful after Miriam was done
– she ate more than any of the boys!

Responses

  1. Those donuts sure do look good! I loved your comment about licking the bowl… I’ve licked bowls and beaters since I was a kid and never got sick. In Michigan we drank unpasteurized apple cider and never heard of anyone getting sick. Pasteurization completely changes the taste and makes it taste awful! As always, I really enjoy reading your blog!

  2. I wouldn’t worry too much about letting your kids lick the beaters. I did it for years as kid and never got sick. As a matter of fact my husband’s uncle still makes homemade ice cream which has raw eggs it and to this day no one I know has gotten ill. I only know of three people in my life who have gotten food illness and all three were contracted from a fast food place.

  3. beckib and brittany,

    Thanks for the vote of confidence on tasting the batter! It’s good to know I am not the only bad mom out there 🙂 Coming to think of it, the only times I have ever had food poisoning was from eating out, and once from eating at a relative’s house who had defrosted the hamburger meat on the counter overnight at the height of summer. THAT was so HORRIBLE!


Leave a Reply

Categories

