Posted by: Zsuzsanna | July 10, 2008

Thanks for the laughs!

Apparently, a reader of my blog informed the IVF monster of my post about her. At least that’s what I am guessing, since I doubt she would be a regular reader of my website herself. She was so kind as to not only link to my blog, but actually quote my post in its entirety on her website. I am not saying that sarcastically at all, I really am very glad about that because bad publicity is still publicity. Somebody out there might actually realize that IVF is wrong after learning the facts behind it.

I have been mostly amused by the comments and e-mails I am receiving, especially the ones from other Christians, although I have to admit that I am only reading about half of the comments, and usually only the first paragraph even of those. There’s only so much time in a day when you take care of 4 little kids. Saying I am judgmental is by far the prevailing remark, with saying that I am a coward for not posting opposing opinions coming in second place. Yes, I am judgmental! Guilty as charged! The Bible never says not to judge, it says to be careful how you judge because you will be held to the same standards. As someone who will never consider killing my children, especially not in those kind of numbers, I have nothing to worry about with that one.

1Corinthians 2:15 But he that is spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man.

John 7:24 Judge not according to the appearance, but judge righteous judgment.

“Judge righteous judgment” is a command to judge. As it commands earlier in the verse, I did not go by appearance, but quoted the woman’s own words detailing her long trail of blood.

Besides, writing to tell me that I am judgmental is a judgmental statement. How can you tell me I am wrong for doing something that you yourself are doing? Sounds like hypocrisy.

As for calling me a coward, that one is particularly funny. If I WERE a coward, I would not have posted about IVF, knowing the angry downpour that would follow. It’s reverse psychology on the level of a preschooler, but thankfully I am past that age and it doesn’t work.

Other comments have been telling me that this woman will never get saved because of my poor testimony to her. She is not saved for the same reason other people are not saved: because she is too proud to believe on Jesus alone for salvation. She is absolutely right, if people like me or anyone else were going to heaven based on their actions it would be impossible to get there. That’s why salvation is only by grace through faith. Even after all her murders, this woman could still be saved if she asked God to.

Of course, there were very vulgar comments, as could be expected from regular readers of this woman’s blog, who refers to her 3-year old by a horrible term. I am so glad that all these babies died so she could leave her 2 living children in the care of a nanny all day and call them terms I would never even call this woman herself. But I am the judgmental one, right?

The saddest comments of all were those from people who agree that IVF is wrong and kills babies, but who thought I shouldn’t speak out against it. So these people wish I WERE a coward? I guess I just love and appreciate children a little more than to want to see them die by the masses in this process called IVF. It may be a shock to you that I have talked to many women who were ignorant of how the procedure works and what it involves, who after finding out the facts walked away disgusted and knowing they would never, ever do IVF, just like they would never consider having an abortion.

Proverbs 24:11, 12
If thou forbear to deliver them that are drawn unto death, and those that are ready to be slain;
If thou sayest, Behold, we knew it not; doth not he that pondereth the heart consider it? and he that keepeth thy soul, doth not he know it? and shall not he render to every man according to his works?

So go ahead and keep writing your long comments. They will not get posted, and I will not lose any sleep over it. In fact, chances are I won’t even read them in the first place because I am too busy playing with my four wonderful children.

Responses

  1. I applaud you for speaking out.I could have very easily been one of the women who didn’t bother to think about all the children that would die if I had done IVF.Thank God we didn’t even have to consider it.I never had a second thought about birth control until I listened to Pastor Anderson’s sermon about it. I’m thankful I don’t just listen to freak doctors anymore. I do my own research before trusting anyone.

  2. I’m wondering what your opinions on adoption are. I had a hysterectomy (life-saving) in my early 20’s and have adopted 2 wonderful boys; both of which are a different race than my husband and I. My parents disowned by family because of the race issue. I’m curious to know if this had anything to do with religion.

    I’m not agreeing nor disagreeing on your post about Tertia. However, as a parent who has lost a child due to a CHD at 5 months of age (also adopted– we didn’t know of her heart defect until she was a week old– it was HLHS); saying that you are happy her child died is terribly heartbreaking. It’s been 8 years since my daughters death and its still painful– it always will be. I am not attacking you; I’m stating my feelings.

    Thank you for your insight.

  3. After seeing this filthy blog, I wish I hadn’t. It’s amazing how many are willing to defend such wickedness.

  4. I was wondering if you could explain to me why you think IVF is killing children? Thanks

  5. Can you please explain to us the difference between killing eggs and sperm? Both were created equally in the purpose of recreation, without one or another there will be no conception.

    Thanks

  6. Hi. You previously wrote: ‘taxes are paying for condoms, vaccines, abortions, and now IVF’
    Could you please explain what is your take on vaccines? Don’t these save children’s lives? Thousands of children were dying or getting crippled from polio before the vaccine.thanks

  7. Sarah and Chris,

    Thanks for the voice of reason!

    Dani,

    I am all in favor or adoption orphans, whether or not they are of a different race than yourself or not. The Bible says that God “hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth” (Acts 17:26). If we were unable to have children naturally, we would most certainly have adopted. In fact, I cannot rule out that we wouldn’t even with all the children God has so graciously blessed us with. The argument that people are worried they might not love an adopted child as much as a “natural” child doesn’t hold water when one considers that we are not related to our spouses either, yet love them at least as much as our children (to which we are only half-related as it is). I am sorry to hear you have been met with criticism from others for your decisions regarding adoption.

    bump fairy,

    you can read over my previous posts on IVF to see why I believe that. As Christians, we believe the Bible when it equates “conceiving seed” with “being with child”. Seeing that you are a surrogate mother, you would not understand or appreciate that notion. You are hiring your body out for money, which is prostitution, although I am sure you tell yourself it is for a noble cause. Killing innocent human life to fulfill the selfish purposes of parents who have never learned the word “no” is not noble at all.

    Deidre,

    the Bible defines conception (the egg and sperm uniting) as the beginning of life, not an egg or sperm on its own.

    Angela,

    I listed vaccines in the list, but I never said they were negative. I could have also said “your tax dollars pay for clothes, food, condoms, and now, IVF” without necessarily implying that they are all wrong. The sentence simply states a fact. We do, in fact, not vaccinate our children, but that is a different discussion and will have to be dealt with in detail in a future post.

    All others,

    no, my children are not inbred. Seeing that my husband and I grew up on different continents (North America and Europe), the chances would be pretty slim. And if you think they are ugly, you are entitled to your opinion. I guess that’s why God decided to give them to me and not you.

    I have dealt with the Africa-being-a -continent issue in my latest blog post. Apparently, you read my blog with the same carefulness as I read your comments – practically none (which is fine by me).

    There are many reasons not to publish most of the comments I have received in the last 24 hours, some being: (1) I didn’t like your website that it links to (2) you are stating a fact or asking a question that has already been answered in the post (3) you are calling me judgmental – I want to spare you the embarrassment of being exposed as a hypocrite since saying “you are judgmental” is a judgmental statement (not to mention your lack of Bible knowledge) (4) you quote a false Bible version (5) you condone IVF and/or abortion in any form. My blog is strictly pro-life. (6) You use vulgar language (7) I don’t have time to read your comment to decide whether to post it or not, so I just reject them all (8) I simply don’t care what you have to say.

  8. If they’re attacking your kids now, that’s just despicable. Though really, I’d expect nothing less from the these animals that treat their “designer babies” like accessories.

    They’re so far in the dark on this. They hate the truth and being exposed.

    John 3:18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

    John 3:19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

    John 3:20 For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

  9. I think your post was beautifully written…. Ignore the naysayers.

  10. Chris (hethatbelieveth),

    Can you please stop making sense by bringing the Bible into this issue?!?

    Like you, I certainly see the connection between people thinking my kids are ugly, and practicing eugenics on their own offspring. They assess children by “How good will they look in an expensive stroller walking through the mall with me?” It’s like those teenage girls who tote little doggies around in cute purses. The child is valued by its looks, not character. Which is why these people don’t want to adopt instead of doing IVF. I have actually heard of a couple who were considering adoption but decided against it because adopting a white baby in America is almost impossible, and the closest match they could find to that overseas would have been a Russian baby. They decided “Russians look stupid” and went with IVF instead.

    My nickname for Tertia is Tortua, it just seems so fitting.

    Pipsylou,

    The “S/R” blows my mind as well. I have been called heartless and cruel for saying I don’t pity the woman after she prematurely lost 2 babies. But why pity someone who caused the same thing to happen to 2 other of her babies just a few weeks earlier? If she didn’t feel pity for herself or her children, why am I heartless to feel the same? Clearly, the first two babies that were killed were very alive and growing, why else did they “need” to be “reduced”? Besides, that may very well have contributed to or caused the premature birth and subsequent death of the other two babies. “Well, I wanted 2 babies to die, but not all 4, so you better feel sorry for me. And if you don’t, it’s because your are cruel, hateful, and judgmental!”

    Ginger,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I was starting to wonder if there are any real Christians left out there. Jesus wasn’t killed because he was preaching love and peace.

    Matthew 10:25 It is enough for the disciple that he be as his master, and the servant as his lord. If they have called the master of the house Beelzebub, how much more shall they call them of his household?

  11. Thank God we have a final authority in our lives, rather than just making up things as we go. I guess that’s what makes us so unsophisticated and uneducated. They’re absolutely right when they say they don’t worship the same Jesus we do. Their “Love and Peace” Jesus is an idolatrous substitute for the real Jesus. Your God should mold you, not the other way around.

    For someone who considers themselves so “Gorgeous and Divine” and “just doesn’t care” what others think, she sure seems bothered by an American pastor’s wife’s opinion of her butchery.

  12. what an interesting blog you have here!!!

  13. First off, I want to congratulate you on your lovely family, and your newest addition on the way. Children are always a blessing, and should be loved as such.

    Having said that, I will admit quite freely that I disagree with your views on ART (assisted reproductive technology). I completely respect your right to them, and the passion you clearly have in your faith that directs you how to view this technology.

    But let me just say that as a woman with soon to be 5 children, you can’t know what it’s like to have your body betray you in such a primal, instinctual way. As someone struggling to find my own way through infertility, I can genuinely say that I hope you never have to know this pain.

    I won’t defend my views on the subject to you, just as I wouldn’t expect you to feel the need to defend your views to me. All I ask is that you look in your heart to find some compassion for people very much like yourself, and yet worlds apart. As an “IFer”, and as a believer in God the Father, that’s all I ask of you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

