Posted by: Zsuzsanna | July 1, 2008

No news is good news

Our days have been pretty lazy and relaxed. The kids and I usually do some work around the house in the mornings and then spend the rest of our free time going fun places or swimming in the pool. There are a ton of projects I would like to get done before our summer break is over, and before the new baby comes. Some days I am more motivated than others, but overall I think I am making headway.

I can tell that at 6 months pregnant, I am definitely starting to feel tired and “very” pregnant. It’s been over 100 degrees every day for several weeks now, which feels even hotter to me. If I don’t take a nap I am ready to fall over by the early evening. Other than that, this pregnancy has really been pretty easy. My husband and I are both convinced that it is another girl but we won’t know until the birth. There are so few surprises left in life, and this definitely is a very nice surprise.

Later this week, I will be going kayaking on a nearby river with a friend from church. Really, going anywhere without any kids is great, but this is definitely going to be VERY fun. I have not been kayaking since I was pregnant with Solomon so naturally I am very excited.

My husband is flying out to Arkansas early on Friday for work. This is the third year in a row that he won’t be home for 4th of July, which is too bad but I am not complaining. It takes a lot of hard work to support a family of almost 7 on a single income these days.

I have finished buying all the kids curriculum, and am half-way done with the lesson plans. The thought of how I am going to manage with 3 kids in K4, 1st, and 3rd grade, while also caring for a toddler and adding a new baby, is a little daunting. Last year’s books filled one shelf of the bookshelf in the school room. This year, they fill two shelves because Isaac is going into 1st grade and I am adding books for John. I would have never guessed how much time and effort it takes to home school. It’s like teaching three classes at the same time, while having to run a household.

So really nothing new or too exciting going on here, which is exactly what I was hoping for our summer break.

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you won’t be able to spend your holiday together. I applaud you both for the sacrifices you must make for the good of your family. I’d imagine it’s not always easy.

    Which part of Arkansas is your husband headed to? I’m guessing NWARK? That part of the state is growing tremendously (even by National standards) and is considered one of the more promising areas in the country to live right now. Or so they tell us…

  2. I,too, am curious as to where your husband will be in Ark. My family and I will be in NWArk at Beaver lake camping. We leave on Thursday. It is about a 4 hour drive for us to get there. This is the only time we get to see my husband’s mother and sister, as they live in Little Rock.

  3. He will be in Fayetteville, which is in the NW corner.


Leave a Reply

Categories

