Posted by: Zsuzsanna | June 18, 2008

Oh, so TIRED!

There are many things I would love to write about tonight, and even more pictures I would like to share. But it seems that fatigue is just getting the best of me.

After we got back from the camping trip on Saturday, one of us after the other came down with a stomach bug that has been going around. It really wasn’t too bad, and thankfully I got it first so I was prepared for the kids’ throwing up during the night. Another good thing was that they didn’t all get sick at the same time but rather one by one. Tonight, it seems as though my husband is getting it – unfortunately for him, he is traveling for business.

Father’s Day was nice, but busy as Sundays usually are at our house. The kids and I gave our gifts to Dad last weekend because we thought that was Father’s Day, which actually worked out better with all of us getting sick and the business after getting back from the camping trip. I am so happy to be married to the most wonderful, intelligent, loving and handsome man in the world, who also happens to be the perfect Dad.

Today, I became a US citizen, something of which I am very proud. In spite of the problems that America has, I am certain that this is still the best country that has ever existed in the history of mankind. Reading about the severe persecution of home schoolers in Germany today made me even more grateful to be living in freedom here. To celebrate my citizenship, we had lunch at Islands.

The temperatures here have been rising – today was somewhere around 108. Which means that I can either run one errand in the early morning, and get home fast before everything spoils in the back of the van and the temperature in the vehicle is 140 after parking it for just a few minutes. Or I can run errands in the evening, when the sun is going down and temperatures are slightly lower. I opted for the latter. We started by going to Target for diapers and other necessary stuff. We then went to Sam’s Club for groceries, and finished out by going to the grocery store for the remaining items. We got home around 9:30 PM – “we” meaning me and 4 very tired little kids who hadn’t had anything to eat since lunch. Since they had not yet been swimming today, I agreed to let them play in the pool while I was fixing dinner and watching them from the kitchen window. They finally all went to bed around 10:45 PM.

I still have to run the dishwasher, washer, dryer, and pick up the house. It would be nice if I would also clean at least one of the bathrooms, take out the trash, sweep/mop the floors, and put away some clean laundry, but probably none of that will get done because I do have to sleep sometime.

“The days are long, but the years go fast” is certainly a true statement!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on becoming a citizen! Now you can vote!

  2. Zsuzsanna: We’re all very happy for you, but somehow I think voting is probably the very last thing on your mind! 😀

  3. Thanks Rose!

    Chris, you are right… I am thinking about getting my passport ASAP so I can sign up for the concealed weapons permit class!

  4. Congrats on becoming an American. When I bought my .38 years ago. I briefly inquired about that concealed weapons permit and I think they said they also do some interview of your neighbors and what not. That is here is Cali though.

  5. Congrats on becoming an American. When I bought my .38 years ago. I briefly inquired about that concealed weapons permit and I think they said they also do some interview of your neighbors and what not. That is here is Cali though.

  6. Here in AZ, you just have to go to an 8-hour class and be able to somewhat hit the target.


Leave a Reply

Categories

