Posted by: Zsuzsanna | May 13, 2008

America the Beatiful

On the 27th of this month, I have my citizenship appointment. If I pass all the tests I will be scheduled to take the oath and become a citizen shortly thereafter. As you can imagine, I am very excited. I will lose both my German and Hungarian citizenships at that time, as I did not want to deal with the hassle of filing papers to keep those because I can see no benefit to that. I would NEVER want to live in Europe for many reasons.
Someone recently commented that I should reconsider becoming a citizen if I am upset about taxes, big government, doctors, and a few other things I don’t remember now. First off, I don’t know how doctors fit into that list since I thought they exist in every country and I am not particularly fond of them anywhere. Secondly, if this person knew anything about American history, they would know that this country fought for independence from Britain because of taxes and abusive government. I guess I’m a lot like the Founding Fathers.

That being said, I think that despite all the problems of America, and despite its rapid decline (i.e. assimilation to Europe), this is still the greatest country in the world. We enjoy more freedoms than any other country. I will gladly pay $1,200 in property taxes per year (money that goes to the public school system entirely) and then go out and spend more of our hard-earned money to buy school books for our own children (that I would never dream about putting into the government schools) if it means I am allowed to homeschool my children. By contrast, kids in Germany since the days of Hitler have had to go to public schools. Homeschooling families are severely persecuted with loss of custody, jail, and fines, while their kids are taken to school by police force. In a recent case, a girl was removed from her home by a SWAT team, and she as well as her 5 siblings were placed in foster care. All this in an effort to “stamp out parallel societies” – which reminds me an awful lot of who started all this, Hitler.

I have lived in Britain, where the government-sponsored health care system is completely bankrupt and patients die by the droves because they cannot receive the most basic health care they need. Add to that an astronomical crime rate because the police are not allowed to carry guns (except, as far as I know, at London Heathrow Airport). People have to live on two incomes and even then can hardly afford a small house with one small car and maybe a couple of kids that are raised in “nursery schools”.

On our recent trip to Germany, the one thing that stood out to us the most is how much other people want to run your life. Of course, I was expecting the dirty looks from everyone for having four little children. Not because they were wild or bratty (they weren’t), but because in these people’s minds we are overpopulating the planet, which is probably the biggest camel that the schools there have gotten everyone to swallow. I had people looking at me dirty for the way I dressed, which was both fashionable and classy – just not promiscuous. If we let the car idle for a split second after pulling into a parking spot, people would glare at us and/or come up to the van, knock on the window, and tell us to shut the engine off. After all, we were polluting their god, the environment. I guess when the earth is your mother you are going to be protective of it. Never mind that it was below zero outside and maybe we wanted to run the engine to stay warm inside the van while one of us grabbed a snack from the gas station. I am not advocation purposefully trashing God’s creation by littering or vandalism. But have these people ever stopped to think that God didn’t design this planet to last forever? It will all just burn up one day at the end of the world.

Maybe if more people learned about the history of how this country was started and the Biblical principals it was established upon, they too would have a greater appreciation for how good we have it here, and how much is at stake. Anyone who thinks Europe has one up on us socially should go live there for a few months.

So yes, I am very excited about becoming an American citizen!


Solomon built this during his quite time this week, and I thought it was ingenious.

Responses

  1. You are so much more blessed to live in America because if your family lived in Germany, you would not have the freedom to home school your children. I bet that German schools are not good.

    It’s funny how some people thought you should reconsider becoming an American citizen because of how you felt about doctors. They are pretty much everywhere. Sometimes, people take what you believe to extreme. I’m personally against male gynecologists, but I am not against medical care. I can really understand why you prefer to have a home birth. I’ve watched some childbirth videos. To be honest with you, it’s kind of depressing to think about going to the hospital because it’s pretty much for sick people. I think that sometimes they even put IVs in women who are giving birth naturally.

    I really liked the picture of Solomon. Everyday is an adventure for you because you get to see your kids doing creative & funny things.

    America was definitely built on God’s principles, but America has gone down morally over the years. For example, there are so many bad programs and movies on TV today. It was not that bad 20 years ago.

    Misty

  2. I’ll post this as anonymous because you didn’t publish my last comment and I wondered if you found my blog offensive for some reason. No matter!

    I just wanted to say that I thoroughly envy you. You are quite correct in your analysis of Europe. Government wants to run your life for you, and this is creeping in more and more in the UK. Every measure taken is anti-family. Unless husbands are highly paid lawyers or accountants families where the wife stays home are often very very poor. Society is breaking down faster and faster, and there is nothing being done to mend it.

    We pray every success for you in your citizenship procedures.

    Isn’t it wonderful that the greatest citizenship of all, in heaven, does not depend upon any tests we have to do!

    Jonathan

  3. Misty,

    Thank you for your thoughts. I likewise do not oppose medical care across the board, I simply try to avoid it if possible in favor of healthier alternatives.

    Jonathan,

    to my knowledge, I did not delete your previous comment, I think I never received it. This is something I hear a lot and I don’t know if it is Blogger’s fault or why else I never receive some comments.

    Thank you for your thoughts. Sounds like you live in Europe, possibly the UK. I too am glad that gaining my citizenship for Heaven took nothing but believing!

    I’ll keep everyone posted how my application goes.

    Zsuzsanna

  4. Jonathan,

    I just went back and noticed that there were two comments I had never approved or rejected because I had received so many comments on that particular post (“Disturbing News”). But I did approve your comment just now.

    It appears that you do in fact live in the UK. What a shame about the government becoming more repressive. The people there are so nice and kind. There are many things I miss about the UK, but I would never want to live there with my family because of how expensive and dangerous it is. I lived in Manchester, so things might be different where you live.

    Zsuzsanna

  5. America is not perfect but I do love living here. We have far more freedoms than other country’s and more oppurtunities. One of the most important being freedom of religion. The fact that we are allowed to go to church, to pray, to read the Bible.

    I get upset when I see things slipping away and them taking God out of things. I just pray that God doesn’t take his hand off of us. We all need to pray for this country.

    2 Chronicles 7:14

    If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

  6. Yes, I’m in England. I grew up in London but was glad to move out. I don’t think I would like living in Manchester!

    Even so, where I live in the ‘posh’ town of Cheltenham, all the blights on society are the same, and children have NO respect for their elders or for private property.

    Blessings

    Jonathan


Leave a Reply

Categories

