Posted by: Zsuzsanna | January 14, 2008

Family Ancestry Part 2

This is the next installment in my husband’s tracing of his family line. Click here if you missed the first part and would like to watch it.

I think his new hobby of family ancestry had a lot to do with my husband agreeing to go on a trip to Germany. He has since traced his family back to a tiny village in Switzerland, where his 5th through 11th great-grandparents lived. As I found out on the internet today, the old historic building in that village, a major tourist attraction, is actually named after his ancestors, the Knuttis. Below are two pictures of the Knutti-Haus. Although I have not yet found out how old this building is, my guess is that it is several hundred years old. The church building in the village dates back to the 12th century, and still looks like it is in great shape, so this house could likewise be very old.

We are hoping to be able to visit this place while in Europe, but it is far from where we will be staying (315 miles one way) and the road conditions (snow) in the very mountainous region may be too bad. It looks beautiful, though. I have driven through the Alps (the mountain range spanning from France across Switzerland and Austria into Southern Germany) and it is simply the most breathtaking scenery, unlike any other mountain range I have ever seen. You may have seen pictures of the famous Neuschwanstein castle, which is also in the Alps.

It is even more beautiful than that in real life. I took Solomon to see this castle the first time I flew to Germany with him, but he was only 6 months old and doesn’t remember it, of course. It would be nice to take the whole family there this time, but we may not have time for that.

Can you tell how excited I am about this trip??!!?

Responses

  1. It was interesting to watch the ancestry video. I really liked how one of your husband’s relatives signed a form saying that with help of Christ she would not drink alcohol. I wish that all teenagers would sign that pledge. I signed a card for True Love Waits as a teenager and I have remained a virgin.

    It sounds like your upcoming vacation will be exciting. I cannot wait to see pictures of your vacation.

    Misty

  2. Jasmine’s Journey said…

    I bet you are excited! That castle is gorgeous!! Did you go inside it? I can’t wait to see all the pics when you get back. Maybe you can post them in online photo albums or something.

    _________________________

    January 14, 2008 8:40 AM
    Anonymous said…

    It was interesting to watch the ancestry video. I really liked how one of your husband’s relatives signed a form saying that with help of Christ she would not drink alcohol. I wish that all teenagers would sign that pledge. I signed a card for True Love Waits as a teenager and I have remained a virgin.

    It sounds like your upcoming vacation will be exciting. I cannot wait to see pictures of your vacation.

    Misty
    ______________

    January 14, 2008 10:42 AM
    Christine said…

    Wow, how interesting. It motivates me to research more into my family. It’s tough with my family because not many want to talk about their past.

    Thanks for sharing it’s wonderful!
    January 14, 2008 5:52 PM
    Rose said…

    Your vacation sounds wonderful! I am starting to really pray for you and your family while you are over there, as Germany is not at all friendly towards homeschoolers. If you have not looked HSLDA’s website lately, go take a look, they have an article concerning this very thing. Please be careful!

    _________________________

    January 15, 2008 6:39 AM
    ZSUZSANNA said…

    Thank you, Jasmine and Misty. I will be sure to post lots of pictures on here in a photo album of some sort.

    Rose, thank you for your prayers. You are so right, homeschooling is NOT tolerated over there. I check HSLDA every few months to see if there have been any new breakthroughs, but things just seem to keep getting worse. Homeschooling has been illegal since Hitler forbade it. His reason for this was wanting to have more influence over the children to indoctrinate the “Hitler Youth”. Sadly, things haven’t changed at all. Now the government just brain-washes kids to become the vilest type of heathens. German public school makes American public school seem like the most conservative homeschool! I know, because I went through it for 12 years.

    It’s funny, because I have talked to the kids about this. When I announced to them that we were going to Germany, Isaac (4) got this smirk and told me we wouldn’t be able to do any school work on the trip because it is not allowed! He is not that keen on reading and math because it is all logical, while he likes to dream up crazy things.

    By law, we can be in the country as visitors for 3 months before we would have to enroll the kids in school. I would love to spend 3 months every year over there, and taking my kids out in public all morning. I would get hundreds of people asking why they were not in school, and I could proudly proclaim that they are homeschooled. I think it really would change people’s perspective of it. But of course, my husband would never let me go for that long, and I also wouldn’t be able to be without him for that long.
    January 15, 2008 6:54 AM
    Jasmine’s Journey said…

    Yeah I heard something recently about the homeschooling situation. Maybe it was over here? lol I am so glad Steven is going with you.

    _______________________

    January 15, 2008 11:33 AM
    Brian Howard said…

    Steven,

    This is your cousin, Brian. I think the last time I saw you, you were three years old. This is fascinating stuff and I have enjoyed learning more about our family. Keep it up!

    Brian Howard

    ________________________

    January 16, 2008 1:21 PM
    Denny and Anita Howard said…

    Hey this is your aunt Anita (and by the way Brian, the last time you saw Steven was in 1987 I think, when it snowed on Christmas Day in Tucson). I just wanted to say that I have enjoyed the work you have done on the family. If you have done a family tree on Ancestry.com, could I have acess to it? I would love to see it.
    January 16, 2008 7:15 PM


Leave a Reply

Categories

