Posted by: Zsuzsanna | January 8, 2008

Our upcoming trip to Germany

I have a new favorite website: http://www.cheaptickets.com

As I was browsing the prices today for cheap airfares for a relative of mine who was thinking about visiting us, I found trips from Phoenix to Munich, Germany for [:::::drum roll::::] $158. That’s going on the main airlines, United and Lufthansa, which cost about $2500 during peak season. Of course you have to add the taxes and “security fees” to that (i.e. taxes by another name), and the tickets came out to be $350 per person. In more than 7 years that I have lived in the US I have never found a ticket for less than $550. We had been thinking about possibly going to Germany sometime this fall, but I never really thought it was going to happen. When I found this today I knew that nothing would beat this price, so I called my husband and – much to my surprise – he agreed to go to Germany with us. I have flown to Germany three times since we have been married, but it was only ever me and the kids because he couldn’t take the time off as well as afford another flight. Flying to another continent by yourself with four little kids is not that easy, especially because there is not direct flight from Phoenix to Germany and we have to change planes once. Besides, I really didn’t want to go without my husband again. Many of my relatives had never even met him before.

I am so excited! We are not leaving for several more weeks. I think the wait is going to kill me. We will be gone for a week and a half, the longest time we have ever gone anywhere. Obviously, we can’t be gone for longer than that because of church. Already, my husband is missing three of his services (two Wednesdays and a Sunday). Of course the kids thought we were leaving tomorrow, and John started crying when I told him it would be a while. So I filled a glass jar with marbles, one for each day until the trip. They get to take out one marble each day, and the day they take out the last marble is the day we are leaving.

But back to the website: I had to call their customer service twice, and both times I got through to a real person immediately. They were very competent and even more courteous. When they put me on hold for a minute I was listening to classical violin music, which is about the best you can expect these days. There were no hidden fees or any other scams.

Yeah!!

Responses

  1. Good for you! Have a wonderful trip. I like the “marble in a jar” idea…very creative.

    Where did you meet your husband? ..and did you know he was going to be a pastor when you married him?

  2. Thanks, Jasmine. I gave you the baby fever, and now you are giving me vacation fever – like I didn’t already have it!!

    Anonymous, thank you. My husband and I met in Germany, where he was staying with a Pastor in the area. We met in the street when he was soul-winning. I was not a Christian at the time, and because we were only casual acquaintances I didn’t bother introducing him to my family. Once he went back home to the States we e-mailed a little, and after a year I came to CA to visit him and his family. I got saved after three days, and two weeks after that we got married! Imagine my parents’ surprise when I came back from my vacation! I packed up my stuff and moved to the States three weeks later, and have been here ever since. This is why many of my relatives have never met my husband, only the ones who have come and visited us. Which is not many, because they don’t seem to like us too much given the fact that they are all atheists/agnostics/Catholics.

    It’s a funny story. When we got married my husband thought that he was going to be a missionary, so I knew what I was getting into! 🙂

  3. Jasmine’s Journey said…

    Wow that is so exciting!! Take a ton of pictures! My older brother and half brother used to be stationed in Germany while in the army. My older half brother still lives in Germany.

    My parents took a few trips over there when my bro was there. They had a great time.

    I am so happy for you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

