Posted by: Zsuzsanna | December 23, 2007

Our plans for Christmas

Wow, I can’t believe how fast the time between Thanksgiving and now has gone by! I am finally catching on to the kids’ excitement and feel like opening all the presents immediately. But no, I want to use this as an opportunity to teach them patience.

We will not be travelling to visit family, nor is anyone coming to visit us. For dinner on Christmas Eve we will be having German sausages and potato salad, a tradition from my side of the family. The kids will each get to open one present that I pick out – I sewed all four of them matching PJs so they would be looking cute in the pictures on Tuesday morning. Then we will open presents on Christmas morning once they manage to drag us out of bed, which hopefully won’t be too early, and after reading the Christmas story in the Bible first. Personally, I’d rather open presents on Christmas Eve, as was our tradition growing up, but I don’t want to deal with crying breakdowns when I try to send the kids to bed after just having received all these nice new toys and other things. On Christams Day, somewhere between getting dragged out of bed tired and opening the dozens of presents under the tree, we will have a breakfast of bacon, eggs, and pancakes on Christmas morning. (Side note: The BEST way to cook bacon is in a deep fryer, seriously. I have never made bacon any other way since learning about this. Try it, you’ll love it! This does not add any more fat because you drain it all on paper towels before serving.) Hopefully the kids will be so occupied with their gifts that my husband and I will be able to enjoy some board games throughout the day, as well as cook the Christmas dinner – Honeybaked Ham with mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, fresh rolls, etc. We only have this ham once a year, and it is soooo good. My guess is that we will be eating this in the early afternoon, as well as nibble on leftovers throughout the evening. I would also like to make a cheesecake for dessert. Maybe we can also go for a leisurely walk in the afternoon.

Christmas Day also is also our church’s 2nd anniversary. It has been so exciting starting this church, and I think that we have the best people in the world.

I will be posting pictures later on next week. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family!
Responses

  1. I hope you all will have a Merry Christmas. I am sure that you will have a lot of fun watching the kids open presents.

    Misty

  2. Mr. Cardot, I am glad to hear you enjoy the sermons. It can be challenging sometimes with a family of 6 and a husband who pastors a church as well as works about 60 hrs. /week – but we all love it, and think that it is well worth the effort. Thank you for your encouragement.

    Thank you, Misty! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas yourself!

  3. Nicholas Z. Cardot said…

    I just found you church website and posted a link to it over at mine. I love being able to download and listen to Independent, Fundamental Baptist Sermons. Tell your husband I said thanks for doing all the work that he does. I’ll be praying for him. And thank you for standing by him and helping him. My wife is the world to me and I know you must be the same for him. Stay with it. He needs you. God bless you folks!

    Merry Christmas!!!
    December 23, 2007 1:44 PM


Leave a Reply

Categories

