Posted by: Zsuzsanna | December 22, 2007

What a day!

In case you have been reading this blog and find yourself wondering if I am (a) always on top or (b) have the easiest kids in the world or (c) live in lala land where everything always goes my way, here is a list of all the annoying things I never mention but mostly experience every day:

– Mounds and mounds and mounds of laudry.

– Three different phones ringing a total of approx. 100 times per day (no joke).

– Several calls every day from strangers asking for money. My favorite this week was a woman who said she needed $1500 for her mortgage, but she would be happy to take any amount we could offer her. Could you hold for a minute while I get my checkbook? Seriously, when did God become an ATM machine?

– My husband, who likes to talk on the phone very loudly, while pacing back and forth through the entire house. Makes me every more scatterbrained than I already am.

– Having to share bathrooms with three little boys. At any given time they are either clogged, not flushed, dirty, or all of the aforementioned.

– Working for 18 hours every day, only to feel like I am always behind on chores, errands, school work, Bible reading/memory, etc. It feels like drowning.

– Did I mention laudry already?

– Trying to please the palates of four children in one meal, three times per day. One only wants vegetables, one only PB&J sandwiches, one only sweet foods, and one only meat and potatoes. I guess their nutrition is balanced between them all.

– No scheduled or guaranteed coffee/bathroom/lunch breaks ever.

– The mounds of food I sweep off the floors every day. I could easily feed another person just from what is under the table.

– Being so overstimulated by the voices of three little boys chattering loudly all day long that by the evening I am just trying not to start screaming like a maniac and asking to be put in a mental institution.

– Tattling, fighting, and sibling rivalry.
.
– Getting 6 hours of sleep or less on most nights.

– And, not to forget, lots of laundry.

Of course, they say to enjoy it while it lasts, and that the kids grow up so fast. I’m sure that’s true, and I’m sure that if I get some rest tonight I will be ready for the same circus again tomorrow. I better be, because whether I feel like trying to be a good mom or not, the few years that I have to raise the kids right are running out fast.

Responses

  1. Christine said…

    This was great! We all have these lists and there are days it’s worse then others. I have wash to do today and it takes the entire day to get it all done and put away.

    Don’t worry we all have things in our lives that makes us wonder how we haven’t been put in a padded room LOL.

    Trying to feed kids with all different tastes in food. I never remember my mother making meals based on what we liked or not. She made dinner and you ate it! I don’t know why this system doesn’t work for me LOL!

    Hope you have a great day!
    December 22, 2007 6:12 AM
    Rose said…

    Welcome to mommyhood!
    December 22, 2007 4:00 PM
    motherathome said…

    BY: D.J. Krug http://bluffoowhy.wordpress.com/category/poetry/

    It’s all in how you look at it

    The old truck that sits in the driveway needing repairs is actually a ship where Moby Dick can be caught with just a string and clothespin.

    The mice that chew holes in my underwear and leave “evidence” in the cupboards, are actually fun and cute as you lure them from under the couch with a piece of cheese.

    The mismatched spoons in the drawer that have seen the bottom of the blender a few too many times and scrape my lips are actually very important archeological digging tools.

    The wooden ramp leading to the house that I always stub my toe on is actually a launching pad for bicycle rockets.

    The broken bathtub that hasn’t been used in a year is actually a turtle terrarium.

    The holes in the driveway that I seem to find with my car every time it rains are actually small lakes where boats and Barbie spend most of their time.

    The dirty toilet that I can’t find time to clean is actually the best place to keep a pet frog.

    The pile of laundry on the couch is actually a cave to hide in.

    Broken chairs and tattered blankets are actually the best materials for a secret fort.

    And leftovers in the refrigerator before payday are actually casseroles when put in a dish and covered with cheese.

    ~Things that seem hopeless can actually be filled with hope depending on how you look at it!~

    This is written by a dear friend and it just seemed appropriate to leave as a comment to you.
    December 23, 2007 8:40 PM
    ZSUZSANNA said…

    Thank you all for the encouragement! I know we all feel like we are the only ones who are struggling as a wife/mother, while everyone else has it easier, but the truth is that we all have the same struggles every day.

    I still can’t decide, though, whether I’d rather have a dirty toilet, or a dirty toilet with a frog living in it… 🙂
    December 28, 2007 7:52 AM
    Jasmine’s Journey said…

    Well you are doing a great job. I know you have your hands super full with 4 under the age of 6. I remember when I had 3 under the age of 6. And then there were 4 by the time my eldest was 7. lol

    It does get easier as they get older. They actually start helping and aren’t as needy. Have you seen the Dougar family? 17 kids. I can only imagine how super organized they have to be.
    December 28, 2007 8:14 PM
    ZSUZSANNA said…

    Yes, I have heard about the Duggars. As a matter of fact, check out my link to the right entitled “Family Planning”. It’s my little dig for all those people worried about how many kids we “plan” on having.
    December 28, 2007 9:57 PM
    Jasmine’s Journey said…

    heheheh
    December 30, 2007 10:17 AM


Leave a Reply

Categories

